About Estonia 


Estonia, officially the Republic of Estonia is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered to the north by the Gulf of Finland, to the west by the Baltic Sea, to the south by Latvia (343 km), and to the east by Lake Peipus and Russia (338.6 km). Across the Baltic Sea lies Sweden in the west and Finland in the north. The territory of Estonia consists of a mainland and 2,222 islands and islets in the Baltic Sea, covering 45,339 km2 (17,505 sq mi) of land, and is influenced by a humid continental climate.

Modern Estonia is a democratic parliamentary republic divided into fifteen counties; its capital and largest city is Tallinn. With a population of 1.3 million, it is one of the least-populous member states of the European Union, Eurozone, the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO), the OECD and the Schengen Area.

Estonia is a developed country with an advanced, high-income economy that is among the fastest growing in the EU. Its Human Development Index ranks very highly, and it performs favourably in measurements of economic freedom, civil liberties, education, and press freedom (3rd in the world in 2012 and 2007). Citizens of Estonia are provided with universal health care, free education and the longest paid maternity leave in any OECD country of the world. Since independence the country has rapidly developed its IT sector, becoming one of the world's most digitally advanced societies. In 2005 Estonia became the first nation to hold elections over the Internet, and in 2014 the first nation to provide E-residency.



About Ida-Viru County

Ida-Viru County (Estonian: Ida-Viru maakond), or Ida-Virumaa, is one of 15 counties of Estonia. It is the most north-eastern part of the country. The county contains large deposits of oil shale - the main mineral resource mined in Estonia. As oil shale is used in thermal power plants, the earth in Ida-Viru contains most of Estonia's energy resources. There are 7 towns located in the county. The largest of these is Narva, the administrative centre of the county is Jõhvi. In January 2017 Ida-Viru County had a population of 143,880 – constituting 12.6% of the total population in Estonia. By ethnic origin, on 1 January 2013, 72.8% of the population were Russians, 19.5% were Estonians, 2.3% were Ukrainians, 2.2% were Belarusians and 0.9% were Finns. This is dramatically different from the rest of Estonia, where most counties are over 80% ethnic Estonian.